Riding space mountain

I’ve never liked roller coasters, or thrill rides.

I don’t like giving up control and putting myself at the mercy of someone else’s creation.

I don’t ride them.

They scare me. I’ve never ridden anything remotely scary. Never wanted too.

I went with my boys yesterday to Disneyland, and we did a few different rides – Indiana Jones, Pirate of the Caribbean, etc. Big stuff, for me. But, they wanted something a little edgier, but they know I don’t go on roller coasters. Ever.

But they didn’t want to go on something without me.

So, I pushed my comfort zone a little when we went to the California Adventure part. Went on the Grizzly something water ride. Scarier than I liked, but within reason. I went backwards down this big water hill – about as bad as I can imagine. I tried the flight simulator that flies over California landmarks, that I was afraid of, and that was cool.

So I suggested the Thunder Run train/roller coaster thing. I just focused on my immediate surroundings, and did ok. We took it again later, and I found myself looking around as we did it.

Not so bad. Should have been scarier, but it wasn’t. Easily the scariest thing I’ve been on, but not so bad.

So.

Space Mountain.

Waited an hour and a half.

No fear in the lineup. Felt fine on the starting gate.

Felt great going up the first hill.

No problems. Shot through space like a wild thing, got slammed around and had a most unusual high speed fast turning adventure.

I could do that again.

I will do it again.

My boys tell me it’s pretty tame, maybe a 4 out of 10. Whatever it is, it’s not something I need to resist anymore, and I’m game to try bigger, wilder rides.

Heights, loss of control – those are some of my biggest fears. But at the right time, they turned out to be nothing.

I expect Amy to push her comfort zone. Nothing wrong with me pushing my own too.

Training myself, these days.

Cool.

Leave a Reply

